A user (or member) is a verified individual who has been invited to participate in chats in your organisation on Qwil Messenger.
A contact is another user who appears on your Qwil Contact List (address book). Users cannot add or remove these contacts as this process is managed by the Qwil Administrator at the company. Only invited users that accept their invitation will be visible on other users’ contact lists (e.g. pending users invited are not yet active contacts).
A Chat Thread (or Chat) is a single instance of a conversation between two or more parties. This is similar to a group chat in WhatsApp, but on Qwil even chats with only two participants have a separate chat thread. Each chat thread has its own Chat Title.
When Chat Threads are created, they require a title, irrespective of the number of participants. If no title is entered, a default title of “New chat” is used. Think of a chat title in Qwil like the subject line of an email. It defines the nature of the conversion inside the chat. Any user can update the Chat Title as the conversation evolves.
A participant is a user who is, or who has been, in a chat thread. They can be added when the chat thread is created, or at any time during the life of the chat. Whenever a user is added to a thread, they see all of the history of that Chat Thread (unlike other social platforms).
Participants can be added to a chat by any user. However, you can only add other participants from your own Contact List. Contacts you may not see on your own list can still be added to your chat threads. However, this action needs to be performed by other participants (usually staff members) in your chats who are linked to those users via their contact list.
All participants can leave a chat by themselves, or be removed from a chat by any staff user in a chat. Former participants will continue to see the thread, but they can no longer send messages to the thread, nor can they see new messages on the thread.
Archiving a chat will remove it from the list of active conversations in your chat list. This helps you keep your chat list more organised and only show you relevant chats.
You will have two separate chat lists, one for active chats and one for archived chats. Chats will remain in your archive until a new notification is received. If you receive a new message your chat will be moved back to the active chat list.
If your chat is archived and muted it will remain archived if new notifications arrive.
As a chat participant you can enable or disable your notifications for a specific chat. Turning notifications off (i.e. muting a chat) will disable browser notifications on web, and push notifications and sound on mobile. Managing notifications can only be done on a specific chat. Disabling notifications for all your chats can be managed from the device settings (browser, iOS, Android).
If you wish to silence push notifications on mobile on all of your chats you can set your status to unavailable in your profile.
If an archived chat is muted, the chat will remain archived even if new notifications arrive. If you wish to be notified of any new messages, we recommend that you enable notifications for your archived chats.
You can indicate your availability and away status to other members by editing your profile. You have different profiles for each organisation that you engage with on Qwil. This means you need to indicate your status and availability for each one.
When unavailable, a red dot will appear on the bottom right corner of your picture so users are aware of your status. You will also not receive notifications about new messages on your mobile device. However, you will still receive messages sent to your chats.
Your profile at our organisation contains two sets of contact information: your secure details, and your public profile details. Each set contains one or more email address(es) and phone numbers.
Your secure contact details are only used as part of the invitation process to setup your Qwil account. These are only visible to you and the Company’s Qwil Administrator. Your secure phone number must be able to receive SMS messages for security verification purposes. You can only have one secure email and phone number.
Your public details are visible to other users via your contact profile. By default, these details are the same. However, the Qwil Administrator can amend them to be different for you upon request.